Boarding group transparency from American Airlines gets a thumbs up from us!

queue at airport

In the hopes of making things a little bit clearer, American Airlines is upping its 4 numbered boarding groups to 9.

You’ve probably been standing around with a “Group 1” stamped on your boarding pass, and wondering why a slew of other people have already seemed to breeze past the agents and are on their way to the plane.

What does this change actually mean?

As of March 1st, there will be 9 numbered boarding groups. Whilst this might sound like a lot of extra groups…essentially American Airlines is keeping its current order but just making it clearer that some groups always were in front of “Group 1”.

It is going to mean that you’ll know exactly where you are in the hierarchy, and hopefully lessen the frustration felt by passengers when others breeze past before the first group has even been called!

Here’s the lowdown of what the new 9 groups will stand for

  • Group 1: First class, US military and business class if it is a 2-class flight
  • Group 2: AAdvantage Executive Platinum and Oneworld Emerald, business class if it is a 3-class flight
  • Group 3: AAdvantage Platinum Pro, AAdvantage Platinum, Oneworld Sapphire
  • Group 4: AAdvantage Gold, Oneworld Ruby, Alaska Airlines MVP members, AirPass, Citi/AAdvantage Executive cardmembers and priority boarding
  • Group 5: Premium economy, Main Cabin Extra and eligible AAdvantage credit cardmembers
  • Group 6-8: General economy boarding
  • Group 9: Basic economy boarding

Basically, the *priority* class on boarding passes was made up of five different groups – hopefully aiding a more straightforward boarding process for all!

Do you want more transparency with your flights, bookings and travel management? Sign up to Ahoy – the app made for frequent flyers.